Another nice stack of wax courtesy Som Records.

1.  Jazzy Jay – Cold Chillin’ in the Spot [Def Jam Recordings]
An early Def Jam hip-hop classic, the label’s third release.

2.  UMC’s – One to Grow On [Wild Pitch Records]
A golden-era dancefloor burner. Soulful & uptempo, the way I like it.

3.  Main Source – Fakin’ the Funk [Wild Pitch Records]
Another golden-era stone classic.

4.  Dynamic Breakers – Dynamic (Total Control-Dub Version) [Sunnyview Records]
Electro-funk from 1984. The dub version kills it.

5.  Mos Def – Ms. Fat Booty [Rawkus Records]
Old School hip-hop as updated by Mos Def in 1999.

6.  Bossa Rio – Alegria! [Blue Thumb Records]
Lush bossa-flavored pop covers (Spinning Wheel, Eleanore Rigby, Don’t Go Breaking My Heart) from these Sergio Mendes proteges.

7.  Caetano Veloso – A Musica de Caetano Veloso [Fontana]
Brazilian budget comp (one of a rather good series) of Caetano tunes recorded by Gal Costa, Elis Regina, Claudette Soares and the songwriter himself.

8.  various – Soul Beats Vol. 6 [Lost & Found Records]
Nice comp of rare grooves and breaks from Tubby Hayes, Silhouettes, Lowell Fulsom, Brother to Brother and others.

9.  Johnny Lytle Trio – Blue Vibes [Jazzland Records]
Hard-swinging vibes’n’organ jazz on Jazzland, circa 1960.

10.  various – Dublab Presents: In the Lab: 2 [Plug Research]
Beard-stroking dub & hip-hop sounds from Prefuse 73, Nobody, Daedelus, Build An Ark and Sa-Ra Creative Partners.

Leave a Reply